top of page

Jackson Emmer

Jackson Emmer is an award-winning songwriter, folksinger, and genre-bending artist from Carbondale, Colorado. His work blends humor with heartache, and tradition with exploration. Emmer’s writing is often compared to that of John Prine and Guy Clark. He has toured the US since 2009, collaborated with Grammy-winners, and co-written 50+ songs with folk music legend, Tom Paxton. Emmer has opened for Robert Earl Keen, Sierra Ferrell, and Carsie Blanton. His music has been featured in Rolling Stone, Billboard, 1200+ Spotify playlists, and hundreds of radio stations worldwide.

Since 2018, Emmer has been a finalist or winner in several songwriting competitions in the US. In 2023, he won 1st place at the prestigious Telluride Troubadour Contest, held during the 50th annual Telluride Bluegrass Festival.

Though often pigeonholed into the “Folk” “Americana” or “Country” genres, Emmer’s music is far more expansive. His writing, production, and collaborations have branched into Indie, Alt-Rock, Jazz, and Electronica territory. Emmer has penned his own name for these genre-defying mashups: “Honky Tronica.”

Jackson Emmer is also the founder of Diamond Ranch Records, Colorado Roots Music Summit, and a songwriting partner for Challenge America.

Career Highlights


2023 - Telluride Troubadour Contest - 1st Place

2023 - Rocky Mountain Folks Fest - Songwriter Showcase - 3rd Place

2023 - Kerrville Folk Festival - New Folk Competition - Finalist

2022 - International Songwriting Competition - Semi-Finalist

2022 - Colorado Music Business Organization - Winner - Songwriting Contest

2020 - “Best Albums of 2020” - Alpine Coda -

2020 - “Best Albums of 2020” - Alpine Coda - Terry Klein/Lonesome Highway

2019 - Songwriter Serenade - Semi-Finalist

2018 - Rolling Stone - “10 Country Artists You Need To Know”

2018 - Songwriter Serenade - Semi-Finalist

Songs Recorded by Other Artists

2023 - “Dinosaur Bones” - Abigayle Kompst

2023 - “Put A Bow On It” - Brittany Ann Tranbaugh

2023 - “Can’t Wait, No Rush” - Brittany Ann Tranbaugh

2023 - “Put The Ring on Every Day” - Grace Morrison

2023 - “Geese Fly North” - Tom Paxton

2022 - “The Salt” - Terry Klein

2022 - “Take Your Time” - Jordi Baizan

2021 - “Dreamers and Fools” - Tom Paxton

2019 - “Pictures on the Wall” - Jordi Baizan

bottom of page